Introduction, Poetry, Writing Adventures

“Groundswell”: A Poem about Me and Why I Write

Let us just be clear about one thing: I do not consider myself a poet. Personally, I think my talents (or maybe I should say passion) lies within fiction. However, I decided to post this poem because it helps you guys get to know me a little bit more.

Enjoy!

“Groundswell” Poem

At twelve years old, the oppression

Of skirts hovered over. An ominous

Nimbus cloud, holding hostage the hope

And hurrying me to my silent shell. To stay.

Thick cloth itching my ankles like a

Cat at a party, under the table.

Skirts to church. Week after week,

Month after month, Year after year,

Sunday after Sunday, ‘til I break free!

Relinquish the chains of inky velvet

So unfriendly on a windy day.

Mother’s modesty, meant with love,

Endured as boot camp. Isolation

Ensued and books became best friends

And imagination my sharpest tool.

Despite many siblings, depression pulled

Me down, down, down. I couldn’t

Crack the surface. My laugh broke.

Frodo on his quest, lowered a rope,

Pulled me in, gave me a home

In Middle-Earth. If Tolkien could

Save me, I can save others, with words.

So, that’s my groundswell, when a hobbit

Hauled on his rope, and I grabbed it.

-Calli Mueller

Feedback is always welcome! 🙂 (Especially as I am a noob at poetry)

5 thoughts on ““Groundswell”: A Poem about Me and Why I Write”

  1. Loved the way you vividly described the whole imagery with your words , enjoyed reading every word of your writing. Thanks for sharing! According to your convenience please do read some of my writings as well, would love to know what you think about them 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

