Introduction, Writing Adventures

Calling all Dragon and Fantasy Lovers! Fantasy-Fiction Genre: A Haven

I love the Fantasy Genre because…

  1. There are dragons (who can hate dragons?) and other incredible beasts.
  2. Characters wielding magic (for better or for worse).
  3. Massive battles that shake the very fabric of the earth (or a different planet, depending).
  4. Breathtaking landscapes (Imaginary? Who cares? It’s awesome).
  5. It is a place to escape and vicariously ride a dragon, assassinate the enemy, or build friendships with the most unlikely of creatures.
  6. I could probably go on forever with this list but I will stop and end with one more.
  7. It saved my life and provided me with a haven.

When I was younger, I was pretty isolated. I didn’t really have any (real) friends. I played on a soccer team as a homeschooler. These girls went to school together so of course I am going to be seen as the alien. This alienation even occurred at church of all places. I understand that there are MUCH more traumatizing things to experience and some of you may be thinking that it wasn’t really a big deal. Just remember that as a young teen (or before) everything is relative and blown up to seem worse than it is.

Anyways, I am not trying to complain about my childhood. For the most part, I am proud of who I have become.

My point is that literature has an immense power in our lives. During that low point for me I had thoughts (only thoughts) to harm myself and when I finally found Lord of the Rings (or it found me) I was saved. Middle-Earth became my home.

Oddly enough, I wrote a poem in a class about this very thing. You can find it in the poetry category. It is titled: “Groundswell.”

Let me know what you guys think! I would love feedback of any kind (as long as it is somewhat civil of course).

Until next time!

2 thoughts on “Calling all Dragon and Fantasy Lovers! Fantasy-Fiction Genre: A Haven”

  1. Love Fantasy-Fiction….book, movie or even a game. Its great you could find a way to escape and help you through lifes problems, we all need a good escape here and there. Thank you for sharing and look forward to reading your blog. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

