Introversion Insights, Introvertigo

Introvertigo Definition

introvertigo

Why name a category Introvertigo? What does Introvertigo mean? Have you been wondering this?

If you have, then you have come to the right post! In this post, I will try to explain my thought process behind choosing this title.

Urban dictionary defines Introvertigo: “The dizziness and disorientation felt by an introvert after spending more than 5 minutes with an extrovert.”

This is a good start at tackling the definition of Introvertigo. However, my thought process was a little more detailed. Here are the steps my brain took as I brainstormed.

  1. I wanted something short, catchy, and thought-provoking.
  2. It had to be related somehow to Introversion (hence my theme).
  3. I considered making up my own word.
  4. Vertigo=whirling, dizziness, loss of balance, etc.
    • I am afraid of heights, so I was comparing that fear to that of fears involved with introversion.
  5. I mushed together Introvert and vertigo=Introvertigo (of course when I googled, it came up as something already in existence, but what can you do!).

Beyond the clever combination of words, I chose this name because of my beliefs that Introverts shouldn’t be ashamed of their lack of “Extrovert” qualities. This may seem obvious. It is. But it is important.

Personally, growing up I felt like I needed to change the way I was, my very essence. People around me would shame me for being quiet. I would question myself.

Why am I so quiet? Why do I think more than I speak? Why can’t I be more talkative? Why do people look at me funny? Why does it take longer for people to get to know me? How can I become more outgoing? Will everyone always look down on me? Will I always be invisible? Alone? An outsider? A Hermit? As always…What is wrong with me?

These questions created an unbearable sense of introvertigo. I couldn’t even handle being in a room with a small group of strangers without starting to sweat, shake, and become extremely anxious. It was not until college that I was able to begin accepting who I was. As soon as I embraced my introversion, I became more comfortable in my own skin. Of course, college pushes anyone out of their comfort zone. But for me, college pushed me in a way that made me feel like I was growing, not changing. By embracing my true self, I was able to relax and actually enjoy meeting new people. I could engage in small talk successfully, and even give speeches with confidence. There is still a sense of introvertigo when I am faced with certain situations, and there always will be. However, I created this blog to help introverts accept themselves for who they are, embrace their introversion, and overall feel comfortable in their own skin; especially when faced with unavoidable situations that cause introvertigo.

My Introvertigo Definition: The discomfort, disorientation, dizziness, imbalance, and mental strain endured by an introvert, while trying to maintain the social standards of society. This condition is aggravated by “mandatory” crowded gatherings that place introverts in situations of unwanted social interactions.

The Antidote: Treat yourself. What do you enjoy? What makes you happy? Comfortable? Safe? Relaxed?

My Antidote: Reading books for fun (college students will understand how rare this is during semesters), drinking (English) tea, sitting by a fire (outside or inside), hiking, TV show binges, watching movies (theater or at home), eating salt-n-vinegar chips, chips and salsa, Dove Chocolate (the best!), playing the piano, and the list goes on.

Any thoughts? What is your antidote? Have you experienced “Introvertigo”? Let me know in the comment section below! Be sure to follow, share, and like!

14 thoughts on “Introvertigo Definition”

  1. I love how you came up with the name of your blog! I like to watch birds, work in my garden and I love to talk one on one with someone I know well and feel safe with.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing your experience here. I am smack dab in the middle of the extroversion and introversion continuum, but I work with some girls in the high school youth group at my church who are extreme introverts. If you ever wanted to share your thoughts on the best way to engage an introvert in that setting without pushing too hard or creating unnecessary discomfort, I would appreciate hearing your perspective. I want to connect with them comfortably, but I don’t always know how!

    From an AO mom on the AmblesideOnline forum 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I find your description and insight dead on! Movies and binge watching TV, rearranging decorations, going for a drive are among my favourite things. I think we all have a part that is introverted. Identifying what you need is a great start.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Love this! Wonderfully written. I have fully excepted and love my introvertness (my own made up word)!! It’s just others commonly around me that find it tolerably interesting and unbearably still. Did I mention I married an extrovert?! Love him!!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

